Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomeSouth FloridaMiami, FLKilroy Crowned Miami Melges 32 Champion

Kilroy Crowned Miami Melges 32 Champion

You know you want it...

Mocka Jumbies and Rum...

- Advertisement -

All eight races scheduled for the 2011 Melges 32 Miami Championship, hosted by Coconut Grove Sailing Club, sponsored by Melges Performance Sailboats have completed leaving John Kilroy on his famous Samba Pa Ti as champion. Kilroy’s team consisted of tactician Nathan Wilmot and crew members Morgan Reeser, Federico Michetti, Martino Tortarolo, Justin Smart, Luca Faravelli and Dean Curtis. He won by an impressive 11 points. Reigning Melges 32 U.S. National Champion, 20-year-old Ryan DeVos on Volpe (Ed Baird, tactician) was second, and Jason Carroll on Argo (Charlie Ogletree, tactician) was third.

The first race of the day took place under, what was considered, more civilized conditions than days past. The seas were still pretty lumpy, yet the breeze was absolutely perfect. Sunshine and 15-18 knots at the start allowed Vincenzo Onorato’s Mascalzone Latino (Francesco Bruni, tactician) to get into a winning groove. He rounded the top mark in the lead and extended throughout the race. By the final run, on his way to the finished, his Melges 32 was launched by a mile. Onorato won, Dalton DeVos on Delta found some success taking second, while Kilroy maintained a solid third place position."

Jason Carroll had another great day on the water scoring another bullet in the final race of the day and event. Kilroy, ultimately sealed the overall deal with a second place finish, while Dalton DeVos continued his top three streak finishing in third.

The International Melges 32 Class Association would like to extend special thanks and appreciation to the Devos family for the use of their two 40-foot tenders on Friday and Saturday for race committee. The class is especially grateful for their kindness and generosity, on the course, at a split second notice, went above and beyond the call of duty to assist. Hopefully, everyone has had an opportunity to see, or at least sample the almost 200+ photos captured this weekend. This too, would have not been possible with out access to their protectors, but also, the very careful and experienced hand of driver Tom Geisler.

- Advertisement -

The race committee work, provided by the Coconut Grove Sailing Club, was exceptional, on- and off-the water. This is where the Miami Championship really came together. Without Ron Rostorfer, along with his league of 25+ Coconut Grove Sailing Club based volunteers, this event would not have been possible. Thanks especially to scorer JoAnn Mattieu and race desk officer Mary Ann Elkin. They made the days go by smooth, especially at registration and weigh-in.

Special thanks also to Hank Stuart, who’s expertise served the fleet well at the Miami Championship. All eight races scheduled were completed and on time!

The 2011 Melges 32 Midwinter Series concluded with the Miami event. Congratulations to Lanfranco Cirillo on Fantastica as he is the winner! In second overall, Joel Ronning on Catapult and Newport’s Phil Lotz on Arethusa takes third.

Top Five Midwinter Series Results (After 3 events)

  1. Lanfranco Cirillo, Fantastica = 284
  2. Joel Ronning, Catapult = 267
  3. Phil Lotz, Arethusa = 264
  4. Alexis Michas, Zetiana = 257
  5. Geoff Pierini, Shakedown = 255

View Full Midwinter Series Results

The Melges 32 Class moves onward to Rye, N.Y. for the U.S. National Championship, hosted by the American Yacht Club on June 10-12, and the North American Championship takes place in Newport, R.I. on July 29-31. Sooner than that, in Europe, the fleet looks forward for some great racing with the commencement of the 2011 Audi Sailing Series, kicking off in Naples, Italy on March 18-20. Stay close to all Melges 32 media outlets to catch the latest news, updates and excitement as it works toward its first inclusion at Copa Del Rey in early August and the 2011 Melges 32 World Championship in Palma, Spain on September 20-24.

Top Ten Results (Owner/Tactician)

  1. Samba Pa Ti, John Kilroy/Nathan Wilmot; [4]-1-2-1-2-2-3-2 = 13
  2. Argo, Jason Carroll/Charlie Ogletree; [15]-3-10-6-1-1-8-1 = 30
  3. Volpe, Ryan DeVos/Ed Baird; 5-[11]-1-2-5-4-5-9 = 31
  4. Fantastica, Lanfranco Cirillo/Vasco Vascotto; 1-4-5-[7]-7-7-7-7 = 38
  5. Delta, Dalton DeVos/Terry Hutchinson; 3-6-8-[18]-12-5-2-4 = 40
  6. roXanne, Kip Meadows/Andy Horton; 8-7-4-3-3-[20]-12-14 = 51
  7. Full Throttle, John Porter/Jonathan McKee; 10-5-7-9-8-6-6-[11] = 51
  8. Heartbreaker, Bob Hughes/Joe Glandfield; 2-12-13-4-6-9-[19]-6 = 52
  9. Ramrod, Rod Jabin/Chris Larson; 13-10-3-13-[18]-3-10-3 = 55
  10. Mascalzone Latino, Vincenzo Onorato/Francesco Bruni; 6-2-[20]-11-15-17-1-5 = 57

View Full Results
View The Full Crew List
Official Event Website
View Photo Gallery

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss a Beat!

Stay in the loop with the Caribbean


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


So Caribbean you can almost taste the rum...

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -spot_img

Recent Posts

Recent Comments