Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeSouthern CaribbeanBarbadosJ/24s Rule at Barbados Regatta

J/24s Rule at Barbados Regatta

You know you want it...

Mocka Jumbies and Rum...

- Advertisement -

Quality racing and superb conditions were the hallmark of this year’s Barbados Regatta sailed May 21-24.

With the classes split into a J/24 fleet (10) and a non-CSA cruising fleet (4), starts over all three days of racing went like clockwork with no postponements or On Course Starts.

The committee boat reported well-matched crews with lots of running the line and much calling of “Starboard” as high winds and strong currents added excitement to the starts.

Commenting on the number of spectacular broaches, one observer noted “they were so skillfully righted one would have thought there were AC crews onboard.”

- Advertisement -

Although the J/24 Phoenix, skippered by Greg Webster, was credited with the most number of broaches day two saw the most dramatic when a gust of more than 34 knots slammed into Ian Mayers Banks Esperanza (J/24) leaving half his crew in the water and swimming to catch up. Although no one was hurt, damage to a shroud meant Banks Esperanza had to retire from the race.

Another casualty was the J/24 Hawkeye, which damaged a rudder. Thanks to help from Banks Esperanza, the rudders were quickly changed from one yacht to the other and Hawkeye was back out on the course in time for the next race of the day.

The frantic action on the course was mirrored on the committee boat, where the same core of ladies—who have manned the boat for the past 16-years—spent some time swimming in order to retrieve various items including hats, documents, a cooler lid and even a boat hook. “We have to keep the regatta ‘green’,” said one race committee member.

The regatta was sponsored by Mount Gay Rum, Banks Breweries, the Barbados Yacht Club, Doyle Offshore Sails and Regatta Guru.

Report by Laura Brooks. Additional reporting by Gary E. Brown. 


1st: Impulse – Neil Burke
2nd: Hawkeye – Robert Povey
3rd: Bunga Bunga – Raphael Grisoni

Non CSA Class
1st: Rapajam Beneteau 53F5 – Ralph Johnson
2nd: Shangri’La Morgan 41–Jonathan Gittens
3rd: Waymar JeanneauAttalia – Mark Mostovac

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss a Beat!

Stay in the loop with the Caribbean


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Gary Brown
Gary Brownhttp://garyebrown.net
Gary E. Brown is the Editorial Director of All At Sea Caribbean. He is a presenter on Island 92, 91.9 FM, St. Maarten, and the author of the thriller/sailing adventure Caribbean High. For more information, visit: garyebrown.net

So Caribbean you can almost taste the rum...

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -spot_img

Recent Posts

Recent Comments