Sunday, April 21, 2024
HomeSailLuxury Girl Wins Governor's Cup

Luxury Girl Wins Governor’s Cup

You know you want it...

Mocka Jumbies and Rum...

- Advertisement -

The Governors Cup Race was held on Saturday January 19, 2008, organized by the Royal British Virgin Islands Yacht Club and sponsored by his Excellency The Governor David Pearey.  Five boats entered the race and it was an exciting start in Road Harbour, with each boat battling for a good position on the line. 

The boats headed off across the Channel on their way to round Dead Chest to starboard.  Christopher Lloyd’s Three Harkoms, with the Governor on board as part of the crew, quickly took the lead and was first round to set their new spinnaker.  Hot on the heels was Dave West’s Chippewa, a Melges 32, with some of the top BVI racers on board.  The boats then raced past Peter Island and rounded the island to leave Norman Island to Starboard. 

Unfortunately just off Norman Island, Three Harkoms had some gear failure and had to retire from the race.  Chippewa was first round the backside of Norman Island, however due to some problems with a halyard, they were unable to hoist the spinnaker for the exciting run in the big waves.  Dave West commented afterwards that he was disappointed at not being able to give his crew the exiting sleigh ride he had promised in these ideal conditions for the Melges 32. 

Pipe Dream with Chris Haycraft helming, was second round Norman Island and recorded top speeds of 14.4 knots while surfing the waves.  Guy Eldridge on his new boat Luxury Girl followed in third place, with Colin Rathbun, racing on Latitude 19, the only IC24 entered in the race, close behind.  The finish was a fetch from Norman Island to the finish line in front of the Yacht Club House at Road Reef. 

- Advertisement -

Once the times and handicaps were calculated, it provided some interesting results, with Luxury Girl taking first place, proving that practice and training with the crew do pay off.  Local sailing legend Presley King helmed Luxury Girl for the race.  Colin Rathbun on the IC24 finished in second place, with Pipe Dream coming in third.  The Prize Giving was done by Clair Burke, the Commodore of the Royal BVI Yacht Club, with the Governor presenting the prizes and the annual trophy to the overall winners.

Guy Eldridge celebrated his first win on this new boat, by ringing the bell in the Club House Bar signaling he would buy a round of drinks for everyone.

Report courtesy of Emma Paull, Club Manager, RBVI Yacht Club

Overall positions and corrected times:

1st     Luxury Girl – Guy Eldridge      2 Hrs 17 Mins 24 Secs
2nd   Latitude 19 – Colin Rathbun   2 Hrs 17 Mins 31 Secs
3rd    Pipe Dream – Chris Haycraft    2 Hrs 18 Mins 34 Secs
4th    Chippewa – Dave West             2 Hrs 26 Mins 42 Secs
5th    Three Harkoms – Christopher Lloyd  DNF

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss a Beat!

Stay in the loop with the Caribbean


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


So Caribbean you can almost taste the rum...

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -spot_img

Recent Posts

Recent Comments