Thursday, July 18, 2024
HomeSoutheast USBermudaWho won the Newport Bermuda Race?

Who won the Newport Bermuda Race?

You know you want it...

Mocka Jumbies and Rum...

- Advertisement -
Med Spirit skippered by Michael D’ Amelio, won the Royal Mail trophy. Photo: Daniel Forster/PPL
Med Spirit skippered by Michael D’ Amelio, won the Royal Mail trophy. Photo: Daniel Forster/PPL

No single winner to the Newport Bermuda Race… 6 Divisions and 17 classes 

By Talbot Wilson

HAMILTON BERMUDA, June 25, 2012– No single boat ‘wins’ the Newport Bermuda Race. This classic ocean race has 5 divisions and 16 classes. The 166 boats entered in 2012 raced for over 100 trophies including 5 major division trophies under the Offshore Racing Rule (ORR) system, and a one major prize for IRC that combines most boats in the St. David’s and Gibbs Hill Divisions that choose to be dual scored. There was also one prize for the Spirit of Tradition Division. Winners in the 17 classes won perpetual trophies and up to 4-deep keepers based on the number of boats in the class.

The St. David’s Lighthouse is often regarded as the main trophy because that division is the largest with 93 boats, and because it carries on the founder’s aim to get amateurs sailing offshore in cruising-racing boats. Winning any division is worth bragging rights.

- Advertisement -

St. David’s Lighthouse Division for the St. David’s Lighthouse Trophy

Carina, the McCurdy & Rhodes 48, sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook CT), finished at 18:16:59 Monday. Her corrected time was 45:08:16. This division is for mostly amateur crews.

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division for the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy

George Sakellaris in the Reichel/Pugh Shockwave (Boston MA) crossed the line third on elapsed at 8:55:25 on Sunday. She had a corrected time of 39:06:56. This division allows full professional crews.

Cruiser Division for the Carleton Mitchell Finesterre Trophy

Simon and Nancy De Pietro’s Briand 76 Lilla  (Cork IRL) crossed the line at 7:17:13 on Tuesday. Her corrected time was 59:46:539. This division is for mostly amateur crews sailing cruising style boats.

Double-Handed Division for The Moxie Prize

Hewitt Gaynor’s J120 Mireille (Mt. Sinai, NY) co-skippered by Jay Raymond (Whitefish Bay WI). Mireille’s finished at 18:32:34 on Monday and her corrected time was 55:57:57. One professional is allowed, if that person is the owner.

Open Division for the Royal Mail Trophy

Michael D’ Amelio (Hamilton. Bermuda) skipper of the Welborn 92Med Spirit. She finished at 13:56:28 Sunday and her corrected time was 45:26:28. This division is for cant-keel boats with full professional crews allowed.

Combined Gibbs Hill and St. David’s Lighthouse Divisions for the IRC North Rock Beacon Trophy

George Sakellaris in the Reichel/Pugh Shockwave (Framingham MA) crossed the line third on elapsed time at 8:55:25 on Sunday. She had an IRC corrected time of 65:19:30. This prize allows for full professional crews and amateurs.

Spirit of Tradition Division

The War Baby Trophy for the winner of the division was presented to Spirit of Bermuda which finished at 23:20:17 Monday night.

For the final results go to RACE RESULTS—


IRC: bermudaraceadmin.com/2012Results/Public/IRCResults.html

The complete prize list is part of the Sailing Instructions available on the Bermuda Race Home page.

Replay your Race on Yellowbrick.

You can study the course of all yachts in the Race on Yellowbrick through the Newport Bermuda Race web site

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss a Beat!

Stay in the loop with the Caribbean


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


So Caribbean you can almost taste the rum...

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -spot_img

Recent Posts

Recent Comments