Wednesday, April 24, 2024
HomeSailJohn Holland Captures Skipper of the Year Award

John Holland Captures Skipper of the Year Award

You know you want it...

Mocka Jumbies and Rum...

- Advertisement -

The Trinidad and Tobago Sailing Association capped off the 2007-2008 Sailing Season with an Annual Prize Giving Dinner and Dance held at the Association’s headquarters at Harts’ Cut Bay, Chaguaramas on June 28th 2008. 

The Sailing Association is a non-profit organisation charged with organising yacht racing across Trinidad and Tobago, the Caribbean and beyond throughout the year and particularly during the racing season which runs from December to May. Their mandate is to promote the sport of sailing across the country particularly among youth through its Youth Sailing School.

Trinidad and Tobago Sailing Association’s President David Leighton celebrated the year’s highlights including the Cancer Benefit Regatta held in April, which raised close to one million dollars for the Cancer Society of Trinidad and Tobago. Chairman of the Cancer Benefit Committee Calder Hart came in for high praise for his sterling contribution throughout the years at making this unique event a success. Since its inception in 2000, the Cancer Benefit Regatta has raised over three million dollars towards the fight against the deadly disease.

Vice President Jerome Mc Quilkin took the opportunity to outline future plans for a Southern Caribbean Racing Circuit in 2009 which will include new dates for the Carriacou Regatta and Angostura Tobago Sail Week. 

- Advertisement -

Later in the programme, the much anticipated Youth Sailing results were announced by the Chairman of the Dinghy Committee, Peter Knox, who handed out trophies to Wesley Scott who garnered the “Best Optimist Skipper 12-15 years” title, Myles Kaufmann for “Best Optimist Skipper Under 12-years, Kelly-Ann Arrindell for “Best Female Dinghy Skipper” and to James Leighton for “Dinghy Skipper of the Year”.

The evening climaxed with the coveted trophy for “Skipper of the Year” going to Duff Donaldson who led the Business Machines’ team to an outstanding 2007-2008 sailing season. John Holland received the trophy on his behalf.

Submitted by the Trinidad & Tobago Sailing Association

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss a Beat!

Stay in the loop with the Caribbean


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


So Caribbean you can almost taste the rum...

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -spot_img

Recent Posts

Recent Comments