Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeSailCarlos Aguilar Match Race Set for December 5-9, 2012

Carlos Aguilar Match Race Set for December 5-9, 2012

You know you want it...

Mocka Jumbies and Rum...

- Advertisement -
USA’s Sally Barkow (left) and Finland’s Staffan Lindberg (right) sail the Finals. Lindberg and his team were ultimately victorious in the Carlos Aguilar Match Race. Credit: Dean Barnes

Welcome to the Carlos Aguilar Match Race 2012


The 5th Annual Carlos Aguilar Match Race (CAMR), presented by Ulysse Nardin / Trident Jewels & Time, will set sail in the scenic Charlotte Amalie harbor on December 5 to 9, 2012.

Twelve Open teams representing some of the best match racers in the world, both men and women, will put their skills to the test in fast-paced highly-competitive sailing action along the spectator-friendly Waterfront.

Past winners of the Carlos Aguilar Match Race read like a Who’s Who of sailing: Finland’s Staffan Lindberg won the Open Division in 2011, while the USA’s Genny Tulloch triumphed in 2008 and 2010 and France’s Claire Leroy in 2009 in the Women’s Division, and it was the USVI’s Taylor Canfield in 2008 and Peter Holmberg in 2009 and Portugal’s Alvaro Marinho/Seth Sailing Team in 2010 that won in the Open Division.

- Advertisement -

The USVI’s America’s Cup winning skipper, Peter Holmberg and top-ranked Caribbean and USA Open match racer, Taylor Canfield, as well as the USA’s Stephanie Robles, who made it to the finals in this event last year, have already accepted invitations to return for the 2012 Carlos Aguilar Match Race. Finland’s Lindberg and the USA’s Sally Barkow, who matched off against Lindberg in the finals last year, as well as past finals competitor, four-time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year, and the USA’s Woman’s Match Racing competitor in the Summer Olympics, Anna Tunnicliffe, hopes to return. The winner of the British Virgin Islands’ Pete Sheals Memorial Match Race will also receive an invitation.

The Open champion in this International Sailing Federation (ISAF)-provisional Grade Two event are awarded an Ulysse Nardin Lady Diver and Ulysse Nardin Maxi Marine Diver precision timepiece, respectively.

The St. Thomas Yacht Club and the Virgin Islands Sailing Association are organizing authorities for the Carlos Aguilar Match Race, namesake for the late Carlos Aguilar, who was an avid sailor and match racer. For more information, visit: www.carlosmatchrace.com

- Advertisement -

Don't Miss a Beat!

Stay in the loop with the Caribbean


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Carol M. Bareuther, RD, is a St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands based marine writer and registered dietitian.

So Caribbean you can almost taste the rum...

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -spot_img

Recent Posts

Recent Comments