Home ABC Islands Curacao Melody Overall Winner for Long Distance Piet Dijk Race

Melody Overall Winner for Long Distance Piet Dijk Race


Despite light winds, an average of 15 knots, this year’s long distance Piet Dijk race was sailed in near-record times. It was the 31st time for the 30 mile race to the small, uninhabited island of “Klein Curaçao”, situated about five miles southeast of the most eastern part of the Curaçao. For the twelve participating local yachts, the main goal is to beat their own record. Team Ibis surely succeeded. Their time of four hours, 54 minutes and 56 seconds was the second best ever, only beaten by Team Curaçao Marine 1010 in 2008.

Team Ibis surpassed their own personal 2005 record by seven and a half minutes, but lacked five and a half minutes for the all time victory. Like the start in Spanish Waters, the race went smoothly and pleasantly, as was the prize giving ceremony traditionally done by Piet Dijk’s widow Tiny. Winfried Merkies’ Melody was the overall winner, Red Snapper got second and the Sea Scouts on Marvin sailed the third best.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.