DA Sea Wins 14th Caicos Classic Release Tournament

A slow start made for an exciting finish at the 14th Annual Caicos Classic Release Tournament held June 8 to 13 out of Turtle Cove Marina, Providenciales, in the Turks and Caicos Islands. The eight boat fleet released a total of 10 blue marlin and three white marlin over four days of fishing, with D.A. Sea declared the winner on points and time.

The fleet went nearly fishless the first day. D.A. Sea, skippered by Capt. Rob Valco, never thought they’d get on the scoreboard either when anglers pulled hooks on three blue marlin all before noon. Lady luck smiled come afternoon when the vessel finally released a blue with only 18 minutes left in the fishing day. Lady Tamara released a white marlin shortly after the D.A. Sea team released its blue.

Come Day 2, the scoreboard inked up with a while marlin release by No Excuse, a blue by Trouble Maker, and a blue by Chucke II, last year’s winner, all by 10 a.m. The bite shut off right after that, but it returned on Day 3 when the fleet collectively released six fish. D.A. Sea kept its lead with the release of a while marlin in the morning and blue in the afternoon. Chucke II and Trouble Maker released a blue apiece, while Long Distance caught its first blue marlin.

The fourth and final day was quiet. Only Panoply released a blue marlin, and that was after missing a double header and having another blue in the spread at the time of release. The rest of the fleet floundered with the bad luck of missed hook-ups or pulled hooks.

Still, D.A. Sea’s two blue and a white (800 points) were enough to earn the vessel the Top Boat prize. Both Troublemaker and Chucke II released two blues (600 points), but Troublemaker earned theirs first to finish second and Chucke II third.

In May 2010, the winning D.A. Sea team will represent the Turks and Caicos in the IGFA (International Game Fishing Association) Offshore World Championship, competing against more than 65 other countries.

The Caicos Classic Release Tournament next will take place June 19-24, 2010.

Check Also

The winning team on Never Enough (from left): John Inniss, Jimmy White, Teddy Williams, Jeff Morris, Sir Charles Williams, Charlie Williams, Bizzy Williams, Robin Dash, Luke Maynard and John Maynard. (Bizzy Williams was not a member of the team, but was making a presentation on behalf of Williams industries, one of the event’s main sponsors). Credit: Carol-Ann Gollop

Never Enough Wins Barbados International Tournament

Three is certainly a lucky number for Sir Charles Williams, who with fellow anglers and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *