BVI Governor Tom Macan Hosts the Annual RBVIYC Cup Race

Governor Tom Macan braved winds of
25 – 30 knots for the Annual Governor’s Cup run by the Royal BVI
Yacht Club. Gov. Macan helmed the J-120 Shamrock, with a crew of eight. Winds
were so strong that Emma Paull, Race Chairman, called
for the two-race event to be held in Road Harbour to afford some
protection for the registered boats. Peter Haycraft’s
Pipe Dream, a Sirena
38 won both first and the honored Governor’s Cup in racing non-spinnaker.
Pipe Dream took the lead as they pulled
away from Andrew Water’s IC-24 Concherer, who finished 4th,
in the second race. Mark Plaxton’s Intac, also an
IC-24, had a problem with a shackle coming loose on their forestay. Only quick
crew work, jury rigging a repair between races, prevented their mast from
falling down. Despite this they still finished in 2nd place. Robin Tattersall’s Diva,
a 75-year-old 30 square meter sloop built by Abeking
Rasmussen, was the only boat brave enough to fly a spinnaker and received
a special award for that. Diva finished
3rd overall.

received crystal vases and decanters during the Awards Ceremony following the
event. Many thanks to Aguyel Fotki for the great pictures taken at sea.

Check Also

Mitchell Callahan, from Cape Coral, Florida wins the 2017 International Optimist Regatta, presented by EMS Virgin Islands. Photo: Dean Barnes

Callahan Wins International Optimist Regatta

Mitchell Callahan was in a sweet spot heading into the third and final day of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *